lim • i • nal

When does an observation become an artistic creation embodied in a place? When does a place cease to transmute, to be transitional or indeterminate? Can the creation that has been in the landscape for a moment, be perceived as a part of the scenery? Can the architecture be tamed as it is no longer disconnect from the landscape but refer to it? As time lapses, natural and cultural landscapes are constantly being transformed… But how can tranquility be expressed in this ever moving place while carving time and space for contemplation?

It’s from this perspective, that the Orbetello Lagoon embodies liminality: through an ever changing contrast between land and laguna. Fauna and flora converge by the small line segregating the observer from the participant. This place acts as an intermediate between two conditions or regions, allowing a natural transition, giving space and time as one embraces the universal beauty of a shared ecosystem.

 

 

Date : 2021
Place : Orbetello Lagoon, Italia

Surface : WWF Oasis of Orbetello Reserve

Client : WWF

Phase : International contest
Photos : Marilène Blain-Sabourin, Architecte

This  sanctuary must be conceived in mutual respect with its natural environment. The animals must be free to move and to exist. Architecture becomes the interface allowing this union, this observation and this cohabitation.

The project suggests a new typology of architecture – a ‘bestiary’ per se – that would transform the liminal space into a still, tamed ecosystem and create a unifying experience. 

From the cartesian reception volumes expressed in the landscape to more untamed smaller observation points disseminated in the reserve, the Orbetello Lagoon becomes a theater of still introspection rooted in the projection in the environment. These domesticated spaces are personified in their multiple forms and spatial characteristics. They embody a reflection of the very environment in which they were born, while providing places for exhibition, training, contemplation and conservation.

Upon arrival, the visitor is greeted in a space where the light sets the ambience’s place. The formal sobriety of the interpretation center dissolves into an increasingly organic temporality and materiality, inspired by the landscape itself. The building is quietly revealed by generating different atmospheres and emotions, depending on the available light. Theatricality and contemplation allow the visitor to abandon the hectic pace of everyday life to become aware of the subtleties of flora and fauna. The more the visitor moves away from their own reality, the more the tamed architecture is expressed in an organic form and an intimacy between materiality and user.

Progress on the site continues with a route of observation points that enhance sensitivity, contemplation and emotion. On one hand, the air point reveals a sensual and progressive dialogue with nature, offering another point of view on landscapes and skies. The gradual ascension generates opening panoramas or restrictive views, a sensation of tension or expansion. Indeed, the air point aims at provoking constant new perspectives as the visitor walks and looks around. 

On the other hand, the water point claims a static and organic discussion with quiet waters. The gradual descent into the earth, grounding the visitors and inviting them to stay still, allows the contemplation of all subtle movements on the water surface. Every moment of contemplation transmutes this natural stillness into a peaceful mind for anybody who aims to accept the beauty of equanimity. 

Finally, the earth observation point brings the visitor in its center, through a concentric approach. By following the narrow pathway that leads to the luminous center, the visitor discovers the theatricality of nature. The space creates an intimate tamed and framed environment, where humans can gaze at natural migration without being noticed. 

In the end, one leaves the Orbetello with enhanced humanity, a sharper sense of one’s place within mother earth’s species, and a harmonious understanding of one’s environment. Time stands still in this contemplative and ludic territory, where the present is inherited from the past, and lays a solid basis for a future, where species and humans cohabit the liminal place in harmony.

lim • i • nal

Quand une observation devient-elle une création artistique incarnée dans un lieu ? Quand un lieu cesse-t-il de se transmuter, d’être transitoire ou indéterminé ? La création qui a été formalisée dans le paysage peut-elle être perçue comme faisant partie de ce même paysage ? L’architecture peut-elle s’apprivoiser en ne se dissociant plus du paysage mais en s’y référant ? Au fil du temps, les paysages naturels et culturels ne cessent de se transformer… Mais comment exprimer la quiétude dans ces lieux toujours en mouvement tout en sculptant le temps et l’espace de la contemplation ?

C’est dans cette optique que la lagune d’Orbetello incarne la liminalité : à travers un contraste toujours changeant entre terre et lagune. La faune et la flore convergent par la frontière séparant l’observateur du participant. Ce lieu agit comme un intermédiaire entre deux conditions ou régions, permettant une transition naturelle, donnant de l’espace et du temps alors que l’on embrasse la beauté universelle d’un écosystème partagé.

Date : 2021
Lieu : La lagune d'Orbetello, Italia

Superficie : Réserve WWF de l'Oasis of Orbetello

Client : WWF

Phase : Concours d'idéation international
Photos : Marilène Blain-Sabourin, Architecte

Ce sanctuaire doit être conçu dans le respect mutuel de son environnement naturel. Les animaux doivent être libres de se déplacer et d’exister. Ainsi, l’architecture devient l’interface permettant cette union, ce constat et cette cohabitation.

Le projet suggère une nouvelle typologie d’architecture – un « bestiaire » en soi – qui transforme l’espace liminal en un écosystème calme et apprivoisé et génère une expérience unificatrice.

Des volumes de réception cartésiens exprimés dans le paysage aux plus petits points d’observation plus sauvages disséminés dans la réserve, la lagune d’Orbetello devient un théâtre d’introspection bien ancrée dans la projection de l’environnement. Ces espaces domestiqués sont personnifiés dans leurs multiples formes et caractéristiques spatiales. Ils incarnent le reflet de l’environnement qui les a vu naître, tout en offrant des lieux d’exposition, de formation, de contemplation et de conservation.

Dès son arrivée, le visiteur est accueilli dans un espace où la lumière fait place à l’ambiance. La sobriété formelle du centre d’interprétation se dissout dans une temporalité et une matérialité de plus en plus organiques, inspirées du paysage lui-même. Le bâtiment se dévoile tranquillement en générant différentes atmosphères et émotions, en fonction de la lumière disponible. La théâtralité et la contemplation permettent au visiteur d’abandonner le rythme trépidant de la vie quotidienne pour prendre conscience des subtilités de la flore et de la faune. Plus le visiteur s’éloigne de sa propre réalité, plus l’architecture apprivoisée s’exprime dans une forme organique et une intimité entre matérialité et usager.

La progression sur le site se poursuit avec un parcours de points d’observation qui valorise la sensibilité, la contemplation et l’émotion. D’une part, le point d’observation de l’air révèle un dialogue sensuel et progressif avec la nature, offrant un autre point de vue sur les paysages et les ciels. L’ascension progressive génère des panoramas ouvrants ou des vues restrictives, une sensation de tension ou d’expansion. En effet, le point d’observation de l’air vise à provoquer de nouvelles perspectives constantes au fur et à mesure que le visiteur se promène et regarde autour de lui.

En revanche, le point d’observation de l’eau revendique une discussion statique et organique avec des eaux calmes. La descente progressive dans la terre, ancrant les visiteurs et les invitant à rester immobiles, permet la contemplation de tous les mouvements subtils à la surface de l’eau. Chaque moment de contemplation transmute cette immobilité naturelle en un esprit paisible pour quiconque souhaite accepter la beauté de l’équanimité.

Enfin, le point d’observation de la terre amène le visiteur en son centre, par une approche concentrique. En suivant l’étroite allée qui mène au centre lumineux, le visiteur découvre la mise en scène de la nature. L’espace crée un environnement intime, apprivoisé et cadré, où les humains peuvent contempler la migration naturelle sans se faire remarquer.

Au final, on quitte la lagune d’Orbetello avec une humanité renforcée, un sens plus aigu de sa place au sein des espèces peuplant la Terre Mère et une compréhension harmonieuse de son environnement. Le temps s’arrête dans ce territoire contemplatif et ludique, où le présent est hérité du passé, et pose les bases solides d’un futur, où espèces et humains cohabitent en harmonie le lieu liminal.

Projet suivant